Skip to content

Angella Peters Faith Story

January 26, 2016

Angella Peters – Obey the Word of God, January 24, 2016 >>Link to video

When Kim Goodnight asked me to speak to you about Obedience, my first thought was, “She has got the wrong person!” My sins from the past caused me to think that I should be the last person to talk about obedience. Then I heard God’s Word, “Everything hidden will come into the light.” John 3:21 “But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what he has done has been done through God.”

Allow me to explain: In September of 2010 my world came to a traumatic point where I was like shattered glass with pieces of me shattered everywhere on the floor. I have seen the root of evil, the darkest side of people, and the most evil side of myself. Out of frustration, anger, sadness, disappointment, and a desperate desire to be loved, I pretended to be someone I wasn’t. In the end I realized I’d become nothing more than an object. It was in that moment that I had come to the very end of myself. I surrendered control, got on my hands and knees, and cried out to God to save me!

I wept uncontrollably for days until my son took me to my parents’ house. The years of disobedience and pretending that everything was all right had finally come to an end. It was at that moment that God showed me His great mercy and grace. I didn’t deserve it, but He began to put all the shattered pieces of my life together like a wonderful work of art. It was not easy, but it was absolutely necessary. God needed me to come to the end of myself.

I know someone needs to hear my story because God can turn our messes into our message. Jesus paid the ultimate price to free us from our sins, to give us salvation, forgiveness, and redemption. God has been working on me for a long time and ever since I fell on my knees and wept for true forgiveness, my life has been transformed. Psalm 43:3, “Send forth your light, and your truth let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain to the place where you dwell.” None of us does it right; that is why we need Jesus. I have personally been delivered from darkness and delivered into His light. God is capable of trading sin and death for holiness and life when we are obedient to His word. Obedience comes when we deliberately take action; when we stop thinking with our head knowledge, and start thinking with the mind of the Holy Spirit. Obedience is a way of life and it is the key. Jesus said, “If you love me you will keep my commandments.” We don’t get to pick and choose what we will obey. 2 John 6, “this is love that we walk in obedience to His commands, as you have heard from the beginning.” His command is that you walk in Love.

1 Peter 1:22, “obeying the Truth of God purifies us and frees us to have sincere love for our brothers, loving one another deeply.” As God has been teaching me obedience, I have seen His glory at work–the work of His hands. For example, at age 13 God gave me a vision and a heart for the people of Africa. I knew one day God was going to send me there, but it took exactly 30 years for me to get out of my own way and obey God. In January 2014 the vision God gave me as a young girl came to life when I obeyed His call to go to Gulu, Uganda, through Midland Free. The trip was incredible and filled with God’s handiwork. It’s not about me or you; it’s about God’s truth, His glory, and the love he has for us. John 15:16, “You did not choose me but I chose you to go and bear fruit; fruit that will last.” “There is nothing in all of creation that is hidden from God’s sight. Everything that is hidden is brought into the light because everything is uncovered and laid bare before God,” Hebrews 4:13-14.

Please read God’s Word and obey Jesus’s teachings and believe in Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. God sees your heart and mind and knows everything about you. Submit to God in obedience. Jesus said in John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Jesus will never leave you nor forsake you. He is everything you need. All things are possible with God. I know because He saved me. I am now free to live a life of obedience each day, including serving in Children’s Ministries and Women’s Ministries at Midland Free, and surrendering to whatever else God calls me to do on His behalf. Thank you!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

